Monday, June 22, 2009

University of Georgia Press Flannery O'Connor Award

More than fifty short-story collections have appeared in the Flannery O'Connor Award series, which was established to encourage gifted emerging writers by bringing their work to a national readership. The first prize-winning book was published in 1983; the award has since become an important proving ground for writers and a showcase for the talent and promise that have brought about a resurgence in the short story as a genre. Winners are selected through an annual competition that attracts as many as three hundred manuscripts. Winners for 2009 whose works will be published this fall are: Geoffrey Becker for Black Elvis and Lori Ostlund for The Bigness of the World.


david said...

i'm confused. it looks like the deadline passed for this in May!

Denise said...

Yes, this is more an announcement for the winners for this year. You can look forward to entering for next year, though. If you're looking for contests, check out our contest pages: